Student Reviews

Based on total 104 reviews

4.08 / 5

5 star
6%
4 star
54%
3 star
36%
2 star
4%
1 star
1%

Write a review!

Students appreciate unbiased university reviews

Write Review

Accommodation

3.63 / 5

Graduate Careers

4.25 / 5

Course Quality

4.23 / 5

Social Life

4.23 / 5

Top Student Review

User Avatar

Law / Legal Studies, Graduate

(5)·By Felicia P·Law· Jul 2021
Really fun! Lots of house parties and events going on at clubs and bars. Lots of different options at different price points. I lived at Spring Gardens (Unite Students). Modern flats and conveniently located - near town & uni. Great facilities. The law library had almost all resources I needed. Lots of brilliant lecturers in the law faculty. Lectures were delivered in large classes and lecturers had an open door policy - easy to talk to and go to their offices if you wanted to chat. Convenient for student life. Everything was within walking distance so didn't need to rely on public transport.
Helpful review?

Student Reviews (104)

User Avatar

Anthropology, Graduate

(5)·By Holly C·Anthropology· Oct 2018
My university has a great faculty. Couldn't ask for better support. The campus is fantastic and full of history. The campus is really close to town and only five minutes from my house which is fabulous.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Law / Legal Studies, Graduate

(5)·By Felicia P·Law· Jul 2021
Really fun! Lots of house parties and events going on at clubs and bars. Lots of different options at different price points. I lived at Spring Gardens (Unite Students). Modern flats and conveniently located - near town & uni. Great facilities. The law library had almost all resources I needed. Lots of brilliant lecturers in the law faculty. Lectures were delivered in large classes and lecturers had an open door policy - easy to talk to and go to their offices if you wanted to chat. Convenient for student life. Everything was within walking distance so didn't need to rely on public transport.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Law, Year 3

(5)·By Melissa C·Law· Oct 2018
Im an exchange student and I xan honestly say it has been the greatest experience ever, I will definitely recommend other to come to the University of Aberdeen. They not only have a great study program, but the extracurricular activities are also well planned, there are more than 50 different societies you can join and I bet no matter which you choose you will have the beat time. The city is beautiful, and the people in it are very welcoming. The nightlife is a lot of fun, all the bars and clubs are in walking distances, so you can go to all of them in one night if you desire!
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Politics / International Relations, Year 2

(5)·By Mohammed-Sayeed A·Politics· Jul 2021
It was good. Met a few people Hillhead was fun. Great people, sometimes noisy but that wasn't for very long Facilities were really good. St Duncan's library is amazing The professors were very knowledgeable about the subject and were always more than willing to help Quieter, but in a nice way. It's not empty, there are things to do, but it's also really scenic with Seaton Park and the beach right across the road
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Psychology, Year 1

(5)·By Catriona C·Psychology· Oct 2018
So far I have loved being a student here. The campus is beautiful, well laid out. I've never had any problems figuring out where anything is. Many events during freshers so was easy to get settled in. Great to meeting my lecturers before classes as well as people who will be on my course. I was really pleased to find I was sharing with people who were the same age as me as I'm a couple of years older than most freshers so I was worried I would feel awkward. My courses are interesting and I was eased into nicely so didn't feel overwhelmed at any point. So all in all I would say this is a great place to go to university.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Chemistry, Graduate

(4.8)·By Bayu·Chemistry· Oct 2018
As an ancient university, Aberdeen Uni has its own identity to be one of the best UK uni. Without a doubt, the Sir Duncan Rice Library is the best place to study and one of the most beautiful library in the world. As for the Department of Chemistry, the lecturer is phenomenal, they are the best in the respective fields. A lot of lab works and classes that we can choose in this study. I really lucky to have an experience to study here.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Economics, Year 3

(4.8)·By Orfhlaith M·Economics· Jul 2021
Really good. Tones of soceities to join both in Economics and outwith. Started my first experience with economics great and im still loving it. Hill head is close to the uni and great for meeting other students. Theres also load of amazing price accommodation each with gyms and perks like bus passes which I really benefited from. The library is amazing. Nice building and great places to study with a great cafe. We also have ASV which is one of the nicest gyms/ sports facilities I've ever been in. Amazing lecturers that will actually lend you a hand when you need one. Also actually interesting course topics. Before covid - city night life is on another level in aberdeen. Plus the uni is right next to the town centre so you're never far from everything.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Chemical / Process / Energy, Year 3

(4.8)·By Arthur F·Chemical / Process / Energy· Jul 2021
Really well organised, class week. Met a lot of great people Mixed feelings — a lot of it is overpriced and badly laid out but for the most part it does its job quite well Absolutely world class library. Absolutely world class sports village. Really great people running the students' union. Great, attentive lecturers, amazing facilities and online software Best city in Scotland, but certainly lacking on nightlife if directly compared to other big cities
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Politics / International Relations, Year 3

(4.8)·By Kinga '·Politics· Jul 2021
It was great, a lot of thing to do and to get involved, parties to go to etc It was fine, depending on what standard you want you can find something for yourself. There were only two laundry rooms though and sometimes it was difficult to do your washing The library is great although gets cramped during exam season. Classrooms can be quite small but so are the class sizes The lecturers are helpful in general. I wish the course gave me more skills and thought about the basics of economics and international law The city is small but you can find everything you need here. Very walkable.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Zoology, Year 2

(4.8)·By Jess H·Zoology· Jul 2021
So much fun! There were lots of events planned and plenty of opportunities to meet people. The accommodation is great value and shared living is a great way to meet friends. The facilities available are great! The library is such a nice environment to study and just chill in. The labs available are also great The lecturers are all super friendly and approachable. The way of teaching is different from high school but the lecturers make it easy to adjust. I love Aberdeen! It's a great sized city for if you like a buzz but not too much. It's also super nice being right next to the beach
Helpful review?