Student Reviews

Based on total 136 reviews

4.05 / 5

5 star
7%
4 star
55%
3 star
35%
2 star
4%
1 star
0%

Write a review!

Students appreciate unbiased university reviews

Write Review

Accommodation

4.16 / 5

Graduate Careers

4.11 / 5

Course Quality

3.74 / 5

Social Life

4.19 / 5

Top Student Review

User Avatar

English Studies, Year 2

(5)·By Cyann F·English Studies· Jul 2021
Amazing! My university really pulled out all the stops to make it a fun time. They had outdoor cinemas and event nights so there was something for everyone. The student accommodation at RHUL, is some of the best I've seen. They were student friendly, cleaned regularly and very aesthetically pleasing with plenty of study space in each room. The facilities at RHUL are what drew me to the university. The sports centre is huge with many clubs, there are lots of societies, great study spaces including cafes and a wonderful modern library. The SU is also always creating new exciting events for students. For English especially, the split of lectures and seminars really helps for in depth studies. Looking at literature broadly in lectures and then more focused in seminars really aids individual learning and interests. RHUL is situated just outside London city, which is perfect for a balance of country lifestyle and city lifestyle. With great walks to Windsor and Virginia Lake, and then a 40 minute train to Waterloo, everything really is in your doorstep.
Helpful review?

Student Reviews (136)

User Avatar

English Studies, Year 2

(5)·By Cyann F·English Studies· Jul 2021
Amazing! My university really pulled out all the stops to make it a fun time. They had outdoor cinemas and event nights so there was something for everyone. The student accommodation at RHUL, is some of the best I've seen. They were student friendly, cleaned regularly and very aesthetically pleasing with plenty of study space in each room. The facilities at RHUL are what drew me to the university. The sports centre is huge with many clubs, there are lots of societies, great study spaces including cafes and a wonderful modern library. The SU is also always creating new exciting events for students. For English especially, the split of lectures and seminars really helps for in depth studies. Looking at literature broadly in lectures and then more focused in seminars really aids individual learning and interests. RHUL is situated just outside London city, which is perfect for a balance of country lifestyle and city lifestyle. With great walks to Windsor and Virginia Lake, and then a 40 minute train to Waterloo, everything really is in your doorstep.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Business Studies / Management, Graduate

(5)·By M B·Business· Jul 2021
Well organised with events on campus and events in London - wristband system for the week 10/10 - best university accommodation in the country. Founders - historic and renown with catering facilities. Newer accommodation build for the 2012 olympics and new builds built 2 years ago - large and accommodating 10/10 - royal Holloway has heavily invested in the a new library which recently opened The calibre of staff is world class - endless opportunities to connect with the large international presence of students & courses are up to date to on-going current affairs. Egham as a town is small and humble but great transport links to London within 40 mins
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Geography, Year 2

(5)·By Chelsea W·Geography· Jul 2021
A very social week for first year students. Great ways to make new friends Lived in Founders Building, a very community area Brand new library with many facilities can be used, many sports and different clubs to be join Most lectures are in person, with many contact hours for students. Great course teach by many great professors It's 30 minutes away from central London, which is not to far for a day out in the city. Egham is a small town with enough facilities for students
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Engineering, Year 2

(5)·By George W·Engineering· Jul 2021
Honestly fantastic. I met a lot of true friends and began to come out of my shell Wedderburn was a really nice place to stay. Room was comfy enough with en-suite The SU was really good. Library is beautiful and a great place to get work done. The course was and is very interesting. The lecturers are engaging and professional Egham is a very quiet place. There's not a lot to do besides going to Staines-Upon-Thames
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Film, Year 1

(5)·By Ahmed M·Film· Mar 2019
Loved it.I don't live at uni, but I've heard that they have 10/10 accommodation.10/10.Lectures were very imforinform.It's great. It's a small village so everything is peaceful and quiet.Reading is important . Make sure you get them all done
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Drama, Year 2

(5)·By Leah W·Drama· Jul 2021
Was amazing I met loads of people and had a great time partying Very good accommodation, good quality rooms and bathrooms are nice plus very good community Library is great as are the sport facilities and the SU is fun when it's open Very good course with lecturers who are still researchers in their fields Tiny town but a nice community feel and not too far from London
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Environmental Science, Graduate

(5)·By Jack E·Environmental Science· Jul 2021
Great, met lots of new faces, learnt a lot about what was to come in the coming years of the course, and had a great time at the freshers parties. Stayed in Penrose Court for my first year and that was my only year in uni accommodation. Was a shared house and was cosy. Had all the facilities I needed but had a very noisy boiler. Kitchen was shared also and was self catered. Library was excellent, £50 million spent on it during my first year to get it built. Was open 24 hours so great for those late night projects. 3G pitches for football and a good sized gym for students. I loved Geography, and we went on trips to Sicily and Nerja in southern Spain, all coordinated to the highest level of expertise. Some Great memories made. All the support I needed was given during my studies and personal tutoring was fantastic. The town of Egham was small and quiet but good travel links to central london meant it was easy to access a better night life and travel around.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Psychology / Criminology, Year 2

(5)·By Mollie B·Psychology· Jul 2021
Amazing! Lots of different events for all tastes and always had the best vibe at the SU. I had a lovely self catered, en-suite room with a double bed. There were 8 people in each flat and mine all became my best friends! It was quite pricy but we are classed as in London so my loan covered it. Library is basically brand new and has lots of room! All my lectures were also in a brand new lecture theatre. Psychology is so interesting! The course at Royal Holloway is good because some of our lecturers have their own textbooks etc so they know what they are talking about. We are a campus university and are placed in a small town named Egham. A 5 minute train journey away from Staines and a 10 minute drive from Windsor.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Psychology, Year 1

(4.8)·By Ciara M·Psychology· Oct 2018
Like you're on the funnest week away from home... that never ends!
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Classics and ancient history, Year 1

(4.8)·By Hannah E·Classics· Oct 2018
Everyone on camous was friendly. Everything I would need (laundrette, post office, shop, etc.) Was all on campus so I had easy access.
Helpful review?