Student Reviews

Based on total 25 reviews

3.74 / 5

5 star
4%
4 star
44%
3 star
28%
2 star
8%
1 star
16%

Write a review!

Students appreciate unbiased university reviews

Write Review

Accommodation

3.60 / 5

Graduate Careers

4.28 / 5

Course Quality

2.93 / 5

Social Life

4.16 / 5

Top Student Review

User Avatar

Law / Legal Studies, Year 3

(5)·By Ivy M·Law· Jul 2021
There were various events held to welcome all the freshers such as dinners, parties and nights out! Everyone was so patient and welcoming and made me feel like part of a family already! I loved Freshers Week! For the first year, I lived in student accommodation with an ensuite. The ensuite was just what I expected. It had everything I needed, and was very stylish and modern. The university of buckingham has all the facilities needed such as the library, gym or sports area, student union and big classrooms. The library staff were always available if the students need help, and out current library system is easy to use and extremely convenient. The gym, on the other hand, is very cheap and at a good price for a year's worth and all the basic equipment that one may need is available. The student union is amazing at answering any inquiries such as lost and found items, general school related questions or even to have a chat with every now and again. I could not say more about the classrooms, other than they were the perfect size for a cozy atmosphere! We all had personal tutors so if I ever had a question at hand, even if it was at 12am, they would reply right away the next day. Or if I didn't understand a part of the lecture, the teachers would review the lecture and go over the part I did not understand. Rather than a city life, buckingham could be said to have a cozy atmosphere in a small town instead. Daily life is peaceful and safe all around.
Helpful review?

Student Reviews (25)

User Avatar

Law, Year 1

(4.8)·By Aimee F·Law· Oct 2018
Brilliant, everyone is friendly and helpful. It's such a lovely clean university too!
Helpful review?
Reply from: The University of Buckingham

Thank you for your review, Aimee.

User Avatar

Amazing University

(4.5)·By Michael E·Other· Oct 2018
I love this university, why would you go to a massive city where you won't know anyone when you can come and study at Buckingham. The town really is relatively boring but all your fellow students staff and lecturers will absolutely make up for that. everyone is so helpful in the village life in Buckingham has. I do love it here. Reccomended.
Helpful review?
Reply from: The University of Buckingham

Thank you, Michael. Glad you fell in love with Buckingham!

User Avatar

Business and management studies, Year 1

(4.5)·By Yasmin G·Management· Oct 2018
I really enjoy the university it has given me a potential of completing my degree. It has also provided me with very good resources and support to achieve my academic goal. This university has a good staff and student ratio which given my more help than I need.
Helpful review?
Reply from: The University of Buckingham

Thank you, Yasmin. We're glad you're receiving all the support you need in order to achieve.

User Avatar

Psychology / Criminology, Year 3

(4.5)·By Roisin H·Psychology· Jul 2021
It wasn't that great. The events were so random and all appealed to such specific niches of people so I didn't attend any of the events and it made it difficult to make friends at the start of the term. I didn't stay in the accommodation but made friends with many that did. The rooms were all very small, the communal kitchens were quite large but each student was only allocated something like one locked cupboard each. All of the student facilities are nice to look at and very clean. However most of the buildings are old with poor heating many times in the winter the university offer blankets to students studying in the libraries. Having such small groups for tutorials made it easier to learn especially when a concept was hard to understand. The staff were always very understanding and helpful. The course was accelerated so I felt like I was maximising my time. It's nice in Buckingham there are lots of coffee shops, pubs and restaurants etc. Also Milton Keynes is only a short bus ride away and has great night clubs.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Lovely town with cool places to visit nearby

(4.3)·By anna f·Biology· Oct 2018
There is a huge list of positives about Buckingham! We have a beautiful campus and really supportive academic and non-academic staff; they know your name from day one, so you feel really welcome. There is a friendly international atmosphere here, as the staff and students come from all over the world. Buckingham is a brilliant student town and I really liked how close it is to Milton Keynes, Oxford and London for when you want to go shopping, to the cinema, theater, museum or a party.
Helpful review?
Reply from: The University of Buckingham

Thank you for this glowing and informative review, Anna.

User Avatar

Law / Legal Studies, Year 3

(4.3)·By Farida F·Law· Jul 2021
It was fun I got the opportunity to get into clubs and also being from a different country it helped me make some friends I stayed at Paulley and house in the accomodation and it was very comfortable just opposite the law school which helped in making it in time for tutorials The facilities in the school was not so limited , the library was pretty stacked however the university of buckingham isn't built like other schools , the facilities are distant from one another It was an accelerated course so I got to get my law degree in just 2 years , the most amazing thing is that you get to have a personal tutor which serves as a guardian or to help you navigate throughout your academic year incase you get into any problem and that extends to non academic aspects of the school , you can imagine how helpful that would be for an international student who knows no one in England It wasn't a city I would say more like a town or even an hamlet social life is non existent however since it can be quite a quiet place it helps to focus on your study
Helpful review?
User Avatar

English and Literature Studies, Year 1

(4.3)·By Megan B·Other· Mar 2019
Fun and engaging.. Quiet and nice rooms but no seated area to eat or hang in.. Really good facilities with friendly staff and peaceful study areas.. Precise lectures that challenge how you think.. Peaceful and relaxing.. Read around our modules and plan essay research in plenty of time.
Helpful review?
Reply from: The University of Buckingham

Thank you for your review, Megan.

User Avatar

If you want a small and friendly campus, come here

(4.3)·By gerard p·Chemical / Process / Energy· Oct 2018
I chose to study here because of the small campus and reduced class sizes. It paid off, because we got to know our lecturers and there were opportunities for one-to-one teaching, which I found particularly helpful during essay-writing periods! Both the campus and the town are beautiful and there are plenty of places to go out eating and drinking, as well as a leisure centre. If you fancy a big night out, you can head to Milton Keynes, Oxford orLondon, and the Student Union actually does a pretty good job of nights out too.
Helpful review?
Reply from: The University of Buckingham

Thank you for your positive review, Gerard.

User Avatar

Business Studies / Management, Year 3

(4.3)·By Mel T·Business· Jul 2021
It was okay. I met a few new people. The uni is small so it's easy to meet people It's not 5* but it's liveable. Mine was en-suite so no need to share communal They were good too. Two libraries and study areas. And huge courts to play netball. Lots of space The classes are small so it's easy to get more help from the lecturer. And it's so easy to get extra help or time with the teacher or added resources There is no McDonalds in Buckingham so it says a lot about the city. It's was a very dead town, no clubs or anything but the student made up for it with lots of house parties and gatherings
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Psychology / Criminology, Year 2

(4.3)·By Kelsie W·Psychology· Jul 2021
Extremely exciting and so many brilliant opportunities. Never felt so welcome Clean! The maintenance team are great. Also very roomy and open So many places to go, and everything is well kept The lecturers are great! And they care about you. they know you by name and are always there to help Buckingham is quiet as the town is small, but there is access to lots of things and Milton Keynes is not far
Helpful review?