Student Reviews

Based on total 128 reviews

4.12 / 5

5 star
4%
4 star
68%
3 star
26%
2 star
2%
1 star
1%

Write a review!

Students appreciate unbiased university reviews

Write Review

Accommodation

3.92/ 5

Graduate Careers

4.03/ 5

Course Quality

4.27/ 5

Social Life

4.26/ 5

Top Student Review

User Avatar

Amazing

(5)·By Jazmin Y·Marketing· Jun 2023
My uni experience has been amazing so far so excited to see what's next
Helpful review?

Student Reviews (128)

User Avatar

Psychology / Criminology, Graduate

(5)·By Anna O·Psychology· Jul 2021
I loved it! Lots of socials and getting to know new people. We had some taster sessions and introductory lectures which were very useful and informative. Not to mention all the club sessions and freebies! I loved my university accommodation- very secure and modern. All accommodation is within walking distance of the university and York city centre, so I couldn't have asked for better! I spent most of my study time in the library- it has everything from group study spaces to a silent floor. You are able to book out any room on campus for study/group projects. There are top class sport facilities which the university are very proud of and the students union was newly built and opened in late 2016! We had friendly and approachable lecturers and the course content was very varied. My favourite year was third year, as we were able to choose our modules and had more control over assignment topics! For example, I was able to incorporate my passion for British Sign language into my psychology of education module, examining research on the mental health of deaf children in mainstream education. I couldn't imagine living anywhere other than York once I was there and settled. It is a smaller, friendly city with lots going on all year round. From Christmas markets to food festivals and York maze hallowscream, there is always something to do.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Amazing

(5)·By Jazmin Y·Marketing· Jun 2023
My uni experience has been amazing so far so excited to see what's next
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Education / Teacher Training, Year 2

(5)·By Megan S·Education / Teacher Training· Jul 2021
Freshers week was very well organised and gave lots of information. Always had something to do It was very clean and my room was a good space. Good communal kitchen There is lots to do and library is always open. A lot of societies to join too The course is well organised and lectures are informative. Very helpful information City life is good as there is so much to do. A lot to go and see and find.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

English Studies, Year 3

(5)·By Richelle M·English Studies· Jul 2021
Loved every moment, went by in a blur but I'd do it all again in a heartbeat Really loved living there as I felt safe but had my own space too. Got on well with my flatmates and lived really close to town too Thoroughly enjoyed using the library as it is really spacious and the staff are really helpful. All of the uni's facilities are always clean and modernised as much as possible Loved the content that was included and the range of topics on my modules. The previous modules I had studies helped to shape my out of academic reading and my dissertation topic too Absolutely loved living in the city as I felt like it was a new sense of home for me. Being close to a big city also provides lots of opportunities for socialising and trying new things
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Good university

(5)·By Gavin S·Languages· Jun 2023
York St John university is close to the city,which you can get to by foot, or bus. The facilities at york St John are good especially if you need a coffee fix. The social life at york St John is great be cause they have many great opportunities to meet friends. Plus the accommodation at york St John is within walking distance of the university and the city
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Other, Year 1

(4.8)·By Becky R·Other· Oct 2018
My university experience so far has been extremely enjoyable. I have made plenty of friends, been on a fair amount of nights out so I have sampled the nightlife, and so far had a great time. I have additionally managed to secure myself a job in town in a bar, which is useful as York isn't the cheapest of places to live. I have also discovered new places to eat and drink up here that I never had down south at home, which is simultaneously really good and really bad. I enjoy going for food and drinks however I am far too poor to be doing this on a regular basis. Overall my experience of university is one I will treasure for the rest of my life.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

History, Year 1

(4.8)·By Ciaran·History· Oct 2018
York St John university has been a great experience thus far. While having the benefits of being a smaller university including lots of 1 on 1 time and feeling less like a number on a spread sheet and more like a person, it also has, in my opinion, great quality teaching staff and excellent facilities, better than some at bigger universities in comparison.

The first semester has been incredibly useful in getting a feel for university life, while also being challenging, fun and exciting. The opportunity to choose my own pathway in history is an exciting one and the choice on offer at York St John are spanning and interesting, while also being large in scope and scale. I would highly recomend York St John to anyone thinking about going to university.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Home away from home

(4.8)·By Erin H·Geography· Jun 2023
A lovely little uni, where your course are tight knit, with lecturers who suppprt you all on an individual basis. The sports clubs are well attended and give you the chance to get more involved, I personally loved swimming club as most of my housemates were in it too! I've made friends for life and had an amazing overall experience here. The city is like a bit town where you feel safe, which is such an important aspect to consider.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Psychology / Criminology, Year 3

(4.8)·By Felicity B·Psychology· Jul 2021
Freshers week was well organised plenty to do and felt very welcoming on campus There is a wide range of accommodation suitable for different budgets and needs and it's all very close to university and the town centre Everything is very up to date and modern, students union always has events on I love my course, the cohort of students is small which makes it more of a personal experience and the staff are extremely knowledgable and helpful The city has a good atmosphere it's busy and full of students and tourists. There's plenty of bars, restaurants and shops
Helpful review?
User Avatar

English, Year 1

(4.8)·By Lauren G·English Studies· Oct 2018
This experience has been amazing. The people are great, the locals are friendly and the university is like a small village: you get the best of both studying in a city and the close knit community of a smaller university. You can really tell the staff genuinely care about your study and welfare, from lecturers to cleaners, everyone makes your time here pleasant.
Helpful review?