Student Reviews

Based on total 251 reviews

4.15 / 5

5 star
8%
4 star
64%
3 star
25%
2 star
2%
1 star
0%

Write a review!

Students appreciate unbiased university reviews

Write Review

Accommodation

3.73 / 5

Graduate Careers

4.11 / 5

Course Quality

4.52 / 5

Social Life

4.23 / 5

Top Student Review

User Avatar

Psychology / Criminology, Year 2

(5)·By Lydia A·Psychology· Jul 2021
Freshers week at the University was okay, we had an induction week where we met our tutors and there was a quiz. But other than that it was a bit boring, not very well planned or organised and not many students got involved. The accommodation I'm staying in is private, but it's still totally affordable and gorgeous! The staff are lovely! It's great to have an option between private and uni accommodation, and the Uni accommodations I looked at were all big and well kept too! Northumbria has a great library with private rooms you can book when rehearsing group tasks / studying with a group of friends. I haven't used the sports facilities much but I have friends who do and they thoroughly enjoy them. The student union is great too they're always hosting events and great at handling any problems! My course was really great, psychology is always interesting however the tutors really make an effort at northumbria to get you involved in the lectures. This is what I loved about my course, how they put effort into even making the boring statistics module fun. Overwhelming at first, but it's going to be like that for anyone, especially during freshers week. Once you learn your way around town / your area and settle in with your flat mates / friends you quickly get used to it and start to really enjoy the independence. It's also important to find a good balance between travelling home and being at uni as this is something I struggled with!
Helpful review?

Student Reviews (251)

User Avatar

Nursing, Year 2

(5)·By Hafza A·Nursing· Jul 2021
My freshers week when I started my course was great as this was pre-covid. In my first year I stayed in accommodation it was such a great experience! All the facilities available to me were great spaces. Pre-covid they were great I learnt a lot as for online uni due to covid it's not the best not as practical as face to face teaching. City life is great you socialise, meet new people, so many places to go with friends it's great.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Environmental Science, Graduate

(5)·By Jai M·Geography· Jul 2021
Really good, the Northumbria SU was very welcoming and was easy to make friends. The Freshers Fair was great to see the vast amount of societies they had to offer I lived at New Bridge Street, a great experience that provided safety and also a mix of people welcoming at the front desk. The rooms and social areas were outstanding and couldn't fault it. The Ellison Building classrooms were ideal for learning, the right size for a smaller course helping us engage more. The SU was a great venue to take breaks and also enjoy a drink after university work. The course was one cohesive unit, the geography department connect with the students great through fieldtips which helped massively only course bonding. The wide range of topics and fieldwork kept the course exciting. Newcastle was a pleasure to stay in, friendly people and a variety of shops close to the university. Everything is in close quarters to the university from first year accommodation or 3rd year houses.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Art / Design, Year 2

(5)·By Nevatha M·Art· Jul 2021
It was really great and they were really helpful and loved the environment , they jus make everyone so comfortable and that felt good Accommodations are really pretty decent and good and it's worth for the money Facilities are really great and we have access to everything which is really good and the helpline is 24/7 so it's easy for us and we love it Course is totally about design and creativity and the lectures are really helpful and good they spend their extra time and make us understand so I love it City life is beautiful and night times it's really fun and a beautiful place
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Engineering, Year 2

(5)·By ben k·Engineering· Jul 2021
The first year was a week-long party but covid prevented this year. However, virtual events still went ahead with plenty of info 5 stars. Not a problem with my experience or any of my friend's. Well managed and looked after. Sports facilities are brand new and high tech, making it easier to workout and join clubs. The SU is a good night out and the technologies used in labs are up to date The lecturers are very informative and clear. The course allowed us to explore things we had'nt have been able to without the uni I love Newcastle. Everything is 20 minute walk or less, there are plenty of places to eat, see, watch, party, explore and do
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Architecture, Graduate

(5)·By Srishti D·Architecture· Jul 2021
Newcastle has the best nightlife. Freshers week was amazing, lots of bars and clubs to choose from and Northumbria and Newcastle universities have a lot of friendly freshers fun together ! Northumbria has a wide range of accommodation to suit your needs, including distance to the university, catering and en suite rooms if you don't like to share. Northumbria's architecture department has a stunning new building that inspires architects to study architecture. The library also had a face lift and the student union has a lot going on always. Our tutors in the postgraduate department spent a lot of one on one time with us. This is required in the course and helps architectural development. We had lectures often and learned a lot from our peers. It was all fun work. Newcastle has everything a big city would have in a smaller radius. It's very safe and student friendly and really fun for drinks and food and shopping. The nightlife is amazing and people are very friendly.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Art and design, Year 2

(5)·By Ilara D·Art· Oct 2018
My university experience is amazing. I love my course and actually enjoy my lessons, the work is interesting and I'm excited by the opportunities that the course will provide me in the future. I've moved far from home but it has definitely paid off and I'm enjoying student life
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Business and management studies, Year 1

(5)·By Lynn D·Management· Oct 2018
My university is amazing, the facilities and support we receive is more than I could ask for. I really feel I am getting my money's worth by how the tutors and lecturers make even the boring stuff interesting. The university as a whole has so many opportunities for everyone and I know I will be successful from being a Northumbria student.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Nursing, Year 1

(5)·By Emily W·Nursing· Oct 2018
So far my uni experience has been incredible. The support we all receive in our lectures and seminars is incredible. Our tutors have been on hand when we need them to be both in academic and personal matters. They are fun and upbeat and make sure that we are understanding the curriculum. The accommodation i am currently in is amazing. If anything goes wrong we have 24 hour security. They are extremely friendly staff. I can't speak more highly of this team.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Economics, Graduate

(5)·By Raghav G·Economics· Jul 2021
The freshers week started with an induction and registration by the university. Sort of got to visit the campus and learn about what to expect. It was really good . The city of Newcastle is the city to be in during the freshers week!! I have lived in both studio and sharing accommodations. Got to say each have its own pros and cons. While studio gives you privacy the flats gives you more interactions. The accommodations are really clean and well maintained. Friendly staff and amazing social areas. Library is huge with lots to offer. Study sessions in library aids to an increase in the concentration levels. The classroom are modern with amazing technologies. Large, clean and warm. Sports areas are good the university gym is everything to ask for! Student union allows diverse participants to be a part of a union within the student union according to their interests. The lectures were evenly divided in the week which gave students the ability to socialise and freshen up which increased concentration levels. The course I am studying is because I love economics and I am glad to be able to do it in Northumbria. Newcastle is the best city for students in the UK. Its modern and full of students. The accommodations and expenses are cheaper compared to other cities in the UK which allows students to live safely and experience the modern way of living. Newcastle is a full package for students.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Psychology / Criminology, Year 2

(5)·By Lydia A·Psychology· Jul 2021
Freshers week at the University was okay, we had an induction week where we met our tutors and there was a quiz. But other than that it was a bit boring, not very well planned or organised and not many students got involved. The accommodation I'm staying in is private, but it's still totally affordable and gorgeous! The staff are lovely! It's great to have an option between private and uni accommodation, and the Uni accommodations I looked at were all big and well kept too! Northumbria has a great library with private rooms you can book when rehearsing group tasks / studying with a group of friends. I haven't used the sports facilities much but I have friends who do and they thoroughly enjoy them. The student union is great too they're always hosting events and great at handling any problems! My course was really great, psychology is always interesting however the tutors really make an effort at northumbria to get you involved in the lectures. This is what I loved about my course, how they put effort into even making the boring statistics module fun. Overwhelming at first, but it's going to be like that for anyone, especially during freshers week. Once you learn your way around town / your area and settle in with your flat mates / friends you quickly get used to it and start to really enjoy the independence. It's also important to find a good balance between travelling home and being at uni as this is something I struggled with!
Helpful review?