Northumbria University

Request info

Student Reviews

Based on total 314 reviews

4.20 / 5

5 star
10%
4 star
64%
3 star
24%
2 star
1%
1 star
1%

Write a review!

Students appreciate unbiased university reviews

Write Review

Accommodation

3.93/ 5

Graduate Careers

4.08/ 5

Course Quality

4.22/ 5

Social Life

4.59/ 5

Top Student Review

User Avatar

amazing

(5)·By ava a·Biology· Jun 2024
I love it.
Helpful review?

Student Reviews (314)

User Avatar

Love Uni!

(5)·By Amelie L·Psychology· Jun 2023
First year accomodation was decently priced, good options around the whole city with security and services. Maintence request were sorted easy. The social side of this uni is very easy to manage along side the course and modules. Would not change my decision to come to this uni for anything!!
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Psychology / Criminology, Year 2

(5)·By Lydia A·Psychology· Jul 2021
Freshers week at the University was okay, we had an induction week where we met our tutors and there was a quiz. But other than that it was a bit boring, not very well planned or organised and not many students got involved. The accommodation I'm staying in is private, but it's still totally affordable and gorgeous! The staff are lovely! It's great to have an option between private and uni accommodation, and the Uni accommodations I looked at were all big and well kept too! Northumbria has a great library with private rooms you can book when rehearsing group tasks / studying with a group of friends. I haven't used the sports facilities much but I have friends who do and they thoroughly enjoy them. The student union is great too they're always hosting events and great at handling any problems! My course was really great, psychology is always interesting however the tutors really make an effort at northumbria to get you involved in the lectures. This is what I loved about my course, how they put effort into even making the boring statistics module fun. Overwhelming at first, but it's going to be like that for anyone, especially during freshers week. Once you learn your way around town / your area and settle in with your flat mates / friends you quickly get used to it and start to really enjoy the independence. It's also important to find a good balance between travelling home and being at uni as this is something I struggled with!
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Communications and PR, Year 3

(5)·By Samantha H·Marketing· Oct 2018
My experience at Northumbria University has been amazing, I have had nothing but support since the beginning of my degree. Now in my final year I am amazed with the support we are being given to find a job for when we graduate and kick start our career.
Lectures are targeted and often broken into seminars which allow us to have one to one support from our lecturers and guests are often brought in to bring in additional expertise from the industry. I couldn't praise the university higher!
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Fantastic vibe for people who may be awkward!

(5)·By Emily M·Law· Jun 2023
Last september I started my first year of Law. Northumbria made this experience as easy as possible to ease into and hear is a few reasons why. #1 there is so many social events and overall the people are very chatty and you make friends fast! #2 their mental health support team, I suffered from anxiety all thtoughout my teenage years so moving to somewhere completely away from home triggered this. Northumbria staff made uni more accessible for me by working with me through my anxiety, i was able to watch recorded lectures and work my timetable to my life. #3 the nightlife in newcastle ? Amazing for students. My accomodation is separate from my uni however was very clean and so affordable I was even able to afford a studio !
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Law, Year 2

(5)·By Amy M·Law· Oct 2018
Constant fun and good quality teaching, its a great law degree because it provides legal textbook knowledge but mixes it with practical hands-on approaches that not many universities do nowadays. Great student support and great nightlife in Newcastle
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Nursing, Year 1

(5)·By Emily W·Nursing· Oct 2018
So far my uni experience has been incredible. The support we all receive in our lectures and seminars is incredible. Our tutors have been on hand when we need them to be both in academic and personal matters. They are fun and upbeat and make sure that we are understanding the curriculum.

The accommodation i am currently in is amazing. If anything goes wrong we have 24 hour security. They are extremely friendly staff. I can't speak more highly of this team.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Biology / Biotechnology, Year 3

(5)·By Ntobeko N·Biology· Jul 2021
Pretty good, I wasn't involved in the society however Newcastle has a great freshers with lots of events to go to. I felt very welcomed and everyone in Newcastle was so friendly. The university accommodation is somewhat out dated and older so I decided to to live private. Thankfully there is so many private options at a decent price range, such as the shield and nido. The library is so modern and easy to access it makes me feel very comfortable being here. I played basketball my first year for the uni and the sports hall and facilities were amazing all so modern compared to other unis. The lectures were easy to reach and understanding of any situation. There was plenty of work other than lectures to help us have an understanding of the course better Newcastle is very compact so it is the perfect student location as most things can be walked too. As well as this the night life is some of the best in the country
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Business and management studies, Year 1

(5)·By Lynn D·Management· Oct 2018
My university is amazing, the facilities and support we receive is more than I could ask for. I really feel I am getting my money's worth by how the tutors and lecturers make even the boring stuff interesting. The university as a whole has so many opportunities for everyone and I know I will be successful from being a Northumbria student.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

University review

(5)·By Lauren E·Nursing· Jun 2023
I am very enjoying university it is one of the best experiences I have had in my life and I can't wait to see what my future holds, the placement is great as well!
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Northumbria University

(5)·By Kimberly S·Business· Jun 2023
Overall I've had an amazing day experience with Northumbria uni. They have a strop student support system through ask4help desk and the course leader for business is the best teacher ive had. Very supportive, helpful and go the extraordinary mile to make sure students understand our work and the assessment criteria.
Helpful review?