Student Reviews

Based on total 113 reviews

3.98 / 5

5 star
2%
4 star
58%
3 star
37%
2 star
2%
1 star
1%

Write a review!

Students appreciate unbiased university reviews

Write Review

Accommodation

3.76 / 5

Graduate Careers

4.00 / 5

Course Quality

4.04 / 5

Social Life

4.13 / 5

Top Student Review

User Avatar

Art / Design, Year 2

(5)·By Reece O·Art· Jul 2021
I really enjoyed it! Made loads of friends! I really enjoyed my accommodation I ended up living with people from my building in the second year where we rented a house Lovely, library Is 247 and my studios opened at 8 and closed at 11 so it was perfect for me It's a wonderful course that's assisted me in making key decisions about my future. Staff are wonderful would even consider them friends It was fun! We have 2 wetherspoons and a bunch of clubs (also some very cute bars)
Helpful review?

Student Reviews (113)

User Avatar

Art / Design, Year 2

(5)·By Reece O·Art· Jul 2021
I really enjoyed it! Made loads of friends! I really enjoyed my accommodation I ended up living with people from my building in the second year where we rented a house Lovely, library Is 247 and my studios opened at 8 and closed at 11 so it was perfect for me It's a wonderful course that's assisted me in making key decisions about my future. Staff are wonderful would even consider them friends It was fun! We have 2 wetherspoons and a bunch of clubs (also some very cute bars)
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Art / Design, Year 2

(4.8)·By Luke G·Art· Jul 2021
Banging, get too meet so many people and have so many experiences with course on nights out and in lectures It's really nice, they were brand new a year old and were really comfy So so good, there are so many places to do these things and I play for the rugby which is class, the community is so welcoming The interaction is amazing and it is more like a community with the lecturers Because it's a big town you have the sense of the city, and the country side
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Art and design, Year 2

(4.8)·By Monika M·Art· Oct 2018
This uni is a very positive place to be. Tutors and lecturers have a friendly approach and motivate the students to be indipendent, creative professionals and are always happy to help to achieve your ambitions. The lectures are filled with interesting facts and make you think in depth about the course you are studying, whilst motivating you and making you excited for further studies. The uni has beautiful campuses with all the equipment you can think of and a broad library available to all students, open until late hours.. I am very happy to study at this uni and I feel like I'm getting maximum education, support and guidance for my money.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Psychology / Criminology, Year 3

(4.8)·By Chloe G·Psychology· Jul 2021
Freshers week was amazing, the best time I have ever had at university. They set up loads of events for freshers to attend and lots of ice breakers to get to know the other students. Lots of fun! The accommodation at UOG is really nice! I stayed in the newer part of the accommodation but it was really clean and spacious The library is one of my favourite places at the university! The building has newer and older parts with plenty of computers and resources. The staff are really helpful and friendly My course is really interesting, the lectures are amazing and staff are always willing to help you if you are struggling! My course doesn't have that many students on it but I like that as I have got to know everyone really well The nightlife in the city is minimal, there's only one nightclub that students tend to go to! However it means you're always going to know someone when you go out, which is quite comforting! It's also really fun as the night bus takes you directly to the nightclub from the student accommodation and runs till the early hours of the morning
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Art and design, Year 2

(4.8)·By Holly H·Art· Oct 2018
I'm enjoying my uni experience, even though the work is challenging, I'm trying to keep organised so I am on top of it. University is the best learning experience not just with my career path but also looking after myself and taking control of my own life.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Education / Teacher Training, Year 3

(4.8)·By Poppy W·Education / Teacher Training· Jul 2021
We had freshers fortnight which was so fun. We had a lot of organised activities at the local clubs- a different one every night. We also had pub crawls to get to know the area. We could purchase tickets which allowed us into multiple events. I stayed in lovely accommodation. Spacious rooms with an en-suite shower room and shared kitchen. I met my absolute best friends in my halls and loved my time there ! The teaching section of the library is AMAZING! All kinds of resources you can use for placement and assignments. The seminar and lecture rooms are always well equipped and spacious. The lectures are very well planned and delivered with enthusiasm. The course is well presented and organised. Gloucestershire is a lively city and living in Cheltenham is a bit of a quieter experience. There are lovely parks and cafes as well as lots of brilliant bars and a few clubs.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Journalism, Year 3

(4.8)·By Meg P·Journalism· Jul 2021
Fun, lots of getting to know people on the course, in halls, at clubs and organised pub crawls. We had Freshers Fortnight so there was a good opportunity to settle in and take part in lots of activities. I lived in halls on campus which was decent, easy to get to lectures and met some good people. There's also more modern halls off campus that are popular but slightly more expensive. There's lots of student houses and usually students live nearby to other students. Libraries are 24hour so very accessible, student union used to have a coffees but has moved to self service. There's a bar on campuses but usually they're quite quiet, most people go out into town for drinks as it's near to uni. There's sports facilities in Gloucester and a gym at Pittville accommodation campus. Small course and very personal, every lecturer knows the students and you get to know your course mates early on. Lectures are a mixture of practical and academic (meaning some are in person and some are online atm) and you can choose modules that are closer to what you want to do in second and third year. I feel like I've had more support from lecturers than I've heard about from friends in other unis. Small so not lots of options for different clubs but that made nights out fun as you'd usually see people you know. One main club that people go to but lots of options for bars in Cheltenham if you'd prefer a bar or pub crawl. If you wanted a bit of change you could easily get a bus to Gloucester to spend an evening at the Quays.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Fine Art, Graduate

(4.8)·By Rebecca S·Fine Art· Jul 2021
Well organised, safe and lots going on across all campuses. Halls were great, however was undergoing major building work when I lived there, the halls I was in looks incredible though now with lots of facilities. Library was great, studio spaces in the art department and all the facilities available in this department were amazing. Small amount of people on the course so a lot more Tutor to student contact, tutors were really able to get to students and their work because of this. Cheltenham is a beautiful town with lots and shops, bars and restaurants. It's relatively small in comparison to larger cities but everywhere is walkable, very safe and so much for students to do.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Business Studies / Management, Year 2

(4.8)·By Fraser B·Business· Jul 2021
Great! The lecturers were really welcoming and held lots of networking events to meet other students. The freshers activities and club nights were really well organised too. Cheap and cosy. The campus and flats are looked after really well and there's always someone on campus to provide help. Rooms are in good condition too. Well looked after, clean and tidy. Warm and welcoming, not too busy so they're all nice environments to be in. My class size is small so the lectures are always good and informative. Lecturers have lots of industry experience and are always on hand to give help, which they are more than willing to do. I've learnt so much and gained a lot of experience from being on my course Cheltenham is small but still a really great place to be. The high street has a lot of big brand as well as independent shops. The clubs and bars are fairly decent. I really like living here
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Architecture, Graduate

(4.8)·By Penny W·Architecture· Jul 2021
Freshers week was very inclusive for all students with a massive range of activities introducing us to any and all of the things the university had to offer. The course itself introduced itself by presenting all the lecturers so we knew who was relevant to us and we were given tours of all the rooms and facilities available to us I stayed at Pitville student village my first year in one of their studio flats. It was excellent. 24/7 security, gym, washing, sports facilities. The accommodation team ensured that on your floor that there was at least one more person doing your course which was good, but it also meant you could mix with people doing other subjects that you might otherwise not meet The library and computer room are open 24/7 which is really useful and our course facilities are open to us 24/7 also meaning you can choose to work whenever you want We have a large mix of types of lectures and seminars which is good for variety. Tutorials and feedback sessions are so useful as we are a creative course Cheltenham itself is a beautiful town/city. Pitville park is lovely all times of year and provides a direct route between accommodation and fch campus. The town itself has a massive range of shops, restaurants and amenities a lot of which have student discounts making it better for us
Helpful review?