Student Reviews

Based on total 164 reviews

4.04 / 5

5 star
7%
4 star
57%
3 star
31%
2 star
4%
1 star
1%

Write a review!

Students appreciate unbiased university reviews

Write Review

Accommodation

3.69 / 5

Graduate Careers

4.01 / 5

Course Quality

4.40 / 5

Social Life

4.07 / 5

Top Student Review

User Avatar

Business Studies / Management, Graduate

(5)·By Jacob B·Business· Jul 2021
My freshers week was very eventful! I spent a lot of time socialising and getting comfortable within the campus. I had a great time learning what it's really like to be a student! Luckily I had the opportunity to stay in Northfield which was one of the best accommodations the university offers. It was practically new and I felt privileged to be living there when some of my friends showed me the state of their accommodation haha The facilities at Sussex were outstanding. The library was huge with never ending resources. There were a large number of areas to socialise which was great. The gym however could have been better. The lectures were generally quite engaging and informative. They could of been more interactive but most lectures are focused around listening so it's hard to incorporate this. The course overall was great and taught me a lot. I loved Brighton as a city, it was full of life and made you feel comfortable. The people there are down to earth and non-judgemental due to the diversity. There aren't many city's like Brighton
Helpful review?

Student Reviews (164)

User Avatar

Business Studies / Management, Year 3

(5)·By Esma P·Business· Jul 2021
A very fun a refreshing week. It was a great experience in transitioning into the university life. Sussex is a great university Accomadation is convenient and located in good places on the campus. Some of the accommodations can be improved however Alot of facilities and support available to students which was great. Library and lecture halls are big which makes it a great learning environment Quality of teaching and teaching material was of high standards. I enjoyed this course alot as it provided invaluable skills and experiences I could not attain elsewhere Brighton is the most vibrant and amazing city. It truly has a magical feeling that makes you feel like your at home. It has many different sides to it and is home to diversity
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Politics / International Relations, Year 2

(5)·By Luke K·Politics· Jul 2021
Lots of events, mixers and welcome parties! Welcoming Stanmer Court: just outside of campus, train station around the corner. Nice atmosphere and good facilities All facilities in the university are great! Every member of the politics department is great at delivering lectures and explaining complex concepts Brighton is a great city to live in. Always something going on
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Politics / International Relations, Year 2

(5)·By Malick D·Politics· Jul 2021
Very good, at the American Express stadium so it was quite the experience. Quite a range of societies present and lots of freebies! Clean, professional and worth the cost. Not the prettiest but it's efficient and does the job. The campus and very nice and green, open and lots of summer vibes. Great lecturers and really challenging concepts that develop your mind. Brighton is cool, coming from London it feels like just a borough but really artistic vibes from the unique city. Lovely seaside and perfect beach for summertime.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Business Studies / Management, Year 3

(5)·By Natalie H·Business· Jul 2021
It was fun, lots of activity and events happening in and out of the university. Lots of club events and promotions too! They're actually quite nice, all seem to be quite clean. My friends had their own bathrooms and the kitchen area was really big. We have a masssssive library, although I can't always find a space. Class rooms are big and always tidy. The lecture rooms are huge and again, always clean. I thought when I started I'd be scared of them but the biggest ones are my favourite. Very well organised and a lot of support is made available. You can always contact you tutors and I've always gotten fast responses. I grew up in Brighton, so I know the city quite well. There's always something happening and the night life before COVID was amazing. We have sooo many clubs, defo something for everyone.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Art / Design, Year 2

(5)·By Inaya M·Art· Jul 2021
It's was really nice, amazing people and very nice teachers. Great syllabus, interesting to study. Very nice accommodation. Great flatmates and easy to get around. Nice bed and bathrooms. Great facilities. Most of the things are modern and easy to use. The content was very interesting and the teaching was also amazing. City life is so cool because I'm Brighton something is always happening.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Business Studies / Management, Graduate

(5)·By Jacob B·Business· Jul 2021
My freshers week was very eventful! I spent a lot of time socialising and getting comfortable within the campus. I had a great time learning what it's really like to be a student! Luckily I had the opportunity to stay in Northfield which was one of the best accommodations the university offers. It was practically new and I felt privileged to be living there when some of my friends showed me the state of their accommodation haha The facilities at Sussex were outstanding. The library was huge with never ending resources. There were a large number of areas to socialise which was great. The gym however could have been better. The lectures were generally quite engaging and informative. They could of been more interactive but most lectures are focused around listening so it's hard to incorporate this. The course overall was great and taught me a lot. I loved Brighton as a city, it was full of life and made you feel comfortable. The people there are down to earth and non-judgemental due to the diversity. There aren't many city's like Brighton
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Accounting and finance, Year 1

(5)·By Thilucksiri R·Accounting· Oct 2018
I am having a very good time at my University. The location of my University is just so calm and the feel of nature inside my University just gives me positive vibes. The staffs are very encouraging and happy to be around. More than enough resources are available that I am always feeling on track with my course. Helps are always available. Advices and opportunities are always easy to access. Just a proud student of Univerity of Sussex
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Biology / Biotechnology, Year 3

(5)·By Max M·Biology· Jul 2021
Really great! There were plenty of activities during the day and parties throughout the night. Societies helped to welcome us and had their own group activities. It was very nice. It was expensive but worth it as I had an en-suite bathroom and a room to myself. The kitchen was shared between 6 of us. Only drawback was the rooms were quite small and only had single beds. The facilities are very good. The only negative I can think of is the library used to get quite full before Covid-19. They fit my interests quite well as we are able to select from a range of different modules to do our favourite topic areas. Lectures were easily accessible online if we happened to miss one. Exceptional. Brighton is my favourite city. There are so many things to do and there is something for everyone. Also has a good nightlife.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Sociology, Year 3

(5)·By Lara K·Sociology· Jul 2021
Really exciting and vibrant. I met lots of wonderful people. Great, cosy and typically studenty Great facilities, I couldn't fault it . The course was relevant and timely, it explored current issues and aspects of societal issues and reform. Highly informative. The city life was exciting and bold, the very best you could expect whilst going to university. It has an open minded and fun feeling and you can be yourself
Helpful review?
User Avatar

English and Literature Studies, Year 2

(5)·By Megan R·English Studies· Apr 2019
Loads of fun, lots of drinking and going out all the time

East slope was the best accommodation. Was very sociable and so much fun however the actual dorms/rooms were nothing special but was super cheap

The bars are really good, the library is also really good but could do with being a bit bigger

The lecturers are always willing to help and are really good in their fields. They include every person on the course in seminars and the course content is really good

City life is amazing. Brighton is one of the best places o be I think to be. A student due to the fun things to do daytime and night time

That you have to be prepared to do some initial modules that aren’t massively interesting but will help in the long run. That you should make use of the staff and lecturers as they really help and do know their stuff and to make sure you go to the seminars as they are really helpful
Helpful review?