Student Reviews

Based on total 246 reviews

4.19 / 5

5 star
8%
4 star
61%
3 star
28%
2 star
3%
1 star
0%

Write a review!

Students appreciate unbiased university reviews

Write Review

Accommodation

4.19 / 5

Graduate Careers

4.22 / 5

Course Quality

4.16 / 5

Social Life

4.18 / 5

Top Student Review

User Avatar

Marketing, Year 2

(5)·By Julia S·Marketing· Jul 2021
Freshers week was amazing. Every single night for the entire week, each club had a different themed event so there was plenty to choose from. The uni as well as the local town did a lot to welcome new students. I have had the opportunity to visit many friends at different accomodations, all of which were really nice and I never heard any complaints. All in face areas whether on or off campus. Library had endless resources and you can get help whenever you need it, all classrooms are fitted with the newest technology, sports facilities are up to date and have amazing machines and there are a loooooot of societies to choose from whether sporty or not. Student Union always keeps up to date with students across all matter whether academic or not. The lectures were amazing because some I got to experience in groups of 500 in big lecture theatres, and some in small classrooms of 30 where learning was more focused and creative. Had the Opportunity to be thought by some great and well known professors which made me feel special. City life is amazing, not only the town centre has everything you need in a walking distance, it is very beautiful with a lot of history itself, and the local restaurants and cafes are the best. The night life is amazing too, every night a couple of different clubs were open so there was never a time where you would be stuck at home bored.
Helpful review?

Student Reviews (246)

User Avatar

Physics / Astronomy, Year 2

(5)·By Nicola W·Physics· Jul 2021
There were plenty of activities to do both organised by the uni and not. The phsyics society put on a lot of events. It was a good time to get to know the campus and your course mates. A lot of different accommodation to offer. Some on campus which is useful. Quite expensive even far away from the uni. Clean and well looked after. Library is huge, a great place to study when there is room. Sports facilities are amazing, gym is great but a bit pricey. Lecture theatres are great, lots of room and very clean. The lecturers are great, they make lectures a lot of fun. The content can be quite difficult but there are a lot of recourses to help us. The lectures are only an hour long and you don't have many in a day. Exeter is a good city as it has a lot to offer but isn't too big. The nightlife is great as there are many clubs. Quite clean and not a lot of trouble, it's a safe area.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

You'll have a great social life at Exeter

(5)·By max l·Asian Studies· Oct 2018
,The Exeter experience gives you beautiful surroundings and a great mixture of city and countryside life - the weather is actually lovely here too! I've really enjoyed how they teach here and thought the facilities were almost like an American-style campus. If you're into partying, you won't be disappointed, as there's always something on.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Law / Legal Studies, Year 2

(5)·By Shalizeh M·Law· Jul 2021
Freshers was an amazing experience. I got to meet so many new people and experience so many new things. It allowed me to get out of my comfort zone and make the best of friends I lived in Lafrowda at the University of Exeter. It is known for being a very social accommodation. Moreover, it was very close to both, the main campus and town. The facilities were amazing as well. The university is very accommodating to students and all facilities are in close proximity to everything I've always wanted to be a lawyer so it was the perfect course for me. Moreover, the lecturers at uni were so friendly and easy to approach, making the learning experience more enjoyable Exeter is a very small city so it is very easy to get used to the surroundings and get around. It is also very green so it is very nice to be surrounded by nature
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Marketing, Year 2

(5)·By Julia S·Marketing· Jul 2021
Freshers week was amazing. Every single night for the entire week, each club had a different themed event so there was plenty to choose from. The uni as well as the local town did a lot to welcome new students. I have had the opportunity to visit many friends at different accomodations, all of which were really nice and I never heard any complaints. All in face areas whether on or off campus. Library had endless resources and you can get help whenever you need it, all classrooms are fitted with the newest technology, sports facilities are up to date and have amazing machines and there are a loooooot of societies to choose from whether sporty or not. Student Union always keeps up to date with students across all matter whether academic or not. The lectures were amazing because some I got to experience in groups of 500 in big lecture theatres, and some in small classrooms of 30 where learning was more focused and creative. Had the Opportunity to be thought by some great and well known professors which made me feel special. City life is amazing, not only the town centre has everything you need in a walking distance, it is very beautiful with a lot of history itself, and the local restaurants and cafes are the best. The night life is amazing too, every night a couple of different clubs were open so there was never a time where you would be stuck at home bored.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Environmental Science, Graduate

(5)·By Keavy M·Environmental Science· Jul 2021
2 weeks It was really nice! The campus was beautiful. I lived on the top floor and had a great view. Could definetly tell you were studying near the coast. The facilities were brilliant. The campus was user friendly and very clean. It was quite a new campus and you could tell it was well funded. You could see that all the lecturers loved the field they were in. All assignments and tasks set were really enjoyable and didnt feel like work. I really loved my course. It was in a small town so very quiet. I loved it as we had access to the beach but also could go to the pub and clubbing if we wanted.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Business Studies / Management, Graduate

(5)·By Max F·Business· Jul 2021
Yeah really good, loads of opportunity to meet the fellow people on my course and some of the teachers. Some socials as well went down a treat So so so nice, catered accommodation on campus was perfect. All very modern and really well kept. Enjoyed spending time in each area. Super applied studies in different business scenarios. Also loved the amount of group work with loads of new people. Rubbish night life most the time but the city and surrounding area was beautiful and accessible
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Biology / Biotechnology, Year 2

(5)·By Holly R·Biology· Jul 2021
It was so much fun I had such a great time and everyone I met were all super friendly. The city is really fun and super easy to find your way around with tonnes of things to do. Accommodation was brilliant, they felt so new even though they were built a while ago and were cleaned twice a week and the cleaners were so lovely. Really nice set up the fridges and ovens all worked really well and the communal area was massive. Facilities are great, there's loads of spaces and different areas to do work in and the lecture theatres are really big and have everything you need. The coffee shops on campus are also a big win, The course is super interesting and develops loads of details about previous learning while making sure everyone who comes from different backgrounds are able to get to the same area of knowledge. The lectures are all really engaging and the practicals make the course even better as can put into practice everything learnt in the lectures. The city is great it's pretty small for a city but that makes it super easy to find your way around, and if you like being by the countryside but also being 10 minutes train journeys away from the beach then Exeter is perfect for that! It also has everything super close by so only need to walk 10 minutes maximum to get to a shop.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Psychology / Criminology, Year 2

(5)·By Phoebe W·Psychology· Jul 2021
My freshers was very good. Lots of events and information. Really enjoyed the number of tasters for societies. I had great accommodation. Really great quality and close to campus. Paying was easy. Didn't use that many facilities. Those that I did were high quality and clean. Great places to eat. Really interesting content. Nice lecture halls, easy to find. Lecturers were very good on the whole. Really great! Plenty of nightclubs! But also a really nice city, perfect size and it has xmas markets!
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Politics / International Relations, Year 2

(5)·By Rory H·Politics· Jul 2021
A good experience, but in some ways bewildering. I felt more could have been done to make sure students knew how to use resources and the library. I also think this course would have been very difficult if I had not studied politics before I was in Pennsylvania Court Halls and it was very nice - the food was good and I found I was put on a corridor with very like-minded people. The rooms were clean, homely and functional. The library is a great place to work, however sometimes daunting to use. Classrooms are very good for learning and sports pitches and the gym are perfect for anyone, whether that be beginners or professional athletes. I found the content and lecturers very engaging and I felt that what I was studying was very relevant with the world around me. The seminars and lectures combined gave me a good overall understanding of subject matter and ability to apply theories to real life examples. Exeter is quite a sleepy town, but the city life is adequate for me - there are quite a few pubs and clubs that have different nights each week that most people can enjoy. There are nice walks and coffee shops down by the Quay and around that area.
Helpful review?
User Avatar

Medicine, Year 2

(5)·By Max M·Medicine· Jul 2021
I really enjoyed freshers week during 1st year as it was actually a freshers fortnight. This meant I had a lot of time to meet new people and have a lot of fun. Furthermore it gave me time to get to know exeter before the real work started. I lived in old lafrowda, and I really loved it and miss it now. I had a 10 person flat so was always something going on. Also being next to the student club is so ideal for nights out. The facilities are all very modern and easy to access. The sports facilities in exeter are world class and incredible to play on. The student bar is a bit small but it's on campus so very convenient Medicine at exeter is very self directed so you have to do a lot of the work yourself which is good as I find that more engaging than sitting in lectures all the time. Also allows me to do more of the things I want to do like play sport. The city isn't too big but not too small so is easy to get around. It has a large range of shops and is all very picturesque and quant
Helpful review?